New Forms Media Society (NFMS) is a non-profit society and media arts organization founded in 2000 that exists to unite creative communities, push artistic and conceptual boundaries, and explore digital media as an art form. By producing the annual New Forms Festival (NFF) as well as a growing schedule of year-round public presentations, we aim to raise the profile of Canadian artists, media arts, underground and subversive arts movements and practices both locally and around the world. NFMS is dedicated to showcasing innovative media works that generate critical and creative discourse within the public sphere.

Part of a larger, international, multi-media festival movement, New Forms explores the ever-changing and evolving world of art and creates a platform for artistic growth. New Forms is a member of International Cities of Advanced Sound (ICAS), and has organized the ISEA symposium among other globally-connected activities. The Society’s goal is to make new media art, electronic music, film, technology base-based installation and performance, DIY culture, and the promotion of marginalized practices accessible to a wider audience.

By promoting Canadian artists in collaboration with the international arts and technology world, New Forms facilitates multimodal art works and engages in discussion on their role in our cultural environment. Since its inception, an integral element of the New Forms Festival is the recognition of independent and leading-edge artists. The New Forms Festival aims to showcase and increase awareness of these artists and their work within our community and beyond by promoting them within a larger milieu. Concurrent to that, New Forms has always valued diverse work from a multitude of marginalized communities within our programming, both locally and internationally, and as such sees the importance in this being represented within our staff, organization and programming mandate.

Simultaneously, New Forms has been involved in the growth and incubation of collectives, movements, artistic practices, DIY spaces and further organizations with electronic music, media art, and community. At its core, New Forms’ identity is based both on the core members of the festival itself, and the community that surrounds it.


Ivy Astrix

Greg McMullen

Megan Turner

Shazia Hafiz Ramji

Philippe Pasquier 

New Forms has been made possible with the contributions of past board members, curators, and operations team over the years, including:

Jarrett Martineau, Rachel Flood, Camille Baker, James K-M, Alexandra Dulic, Alexandra Chen, Keith Doyle, Kenneth Newby, Michael Red, Mario Glavicic, Jennifer Macksymetz, Rob Willis, Ed Jordan, Stephanie McKay, Julie Gendron, Dinka Pignon, Kate Armstrong, Tobias c. van Veen, Kenny Macintyre Miro Oballa, Aryana Sye, Chris Wang, Scott Woodworth, Cedric Meister, Josh Bartholemew, Mayss Naber, Nicolas Sassoon, Logan Sturrock, Elisha Burrows, Matt Smith, Michelle O’Brien, Sarah Cole-Burnett, Aidan Ferris, Lauren Goshinski, JS Aurelius, Ceci-Corsano-Leopizzi, Erica Lapadat-Janzen, Tatiana Nemchin, Paul Clarke, Daniella Sorrentino, Emmy Willis, Sojin Kim, and Darrell Stables.